Photobucket

3/09/2009

I once thought I had mono for an entire year. It turned out I was just really bored.

I have YRLFSATP shit galore to tell but that's going to take a while. I talk too much though and the stories are long enough on their own so it's looking like at least a two part series now. But whatever.

And I had the best intentions on working, once again, on my blog header; trying to incorporate my profile picture into the logo this weekend but that just didn't happen. I woke up at about 3am Saturday morning with the worst 'cold' I've had in a while. It took up residence in my throat and I lost my voice completely for most of Saturday. And while it came back Sunday, I still didn't talk for most of the day just because it felt like my throat had been set afire after a good long rubbing with a piece of sandpaper.
Poor me, I know.
But I'm mostly upright today and can talk and stuff. I've gone through 8 tissues just to get this far but otherwise I'm okay.


::insert applause here::

So I had to make the long-ass drive to Pittsburgh on Friday for my monthly visit for meetings and to put in face time. 95% of the time these visits are uber productive but I was dreading the drive. My car only moves about once a week now so I've gotten spoiled. Plus, I could tell I was getting sick and it was going to be a really long day because I was doing it round-trip, instead of spending the night like I usually do. Sure it's only a three hour drive, but make that drive, then spend 7 or 8 hours working and then try to make the 3 hour drive home. It's a bitch.
Now Pittsburgh drivers are as bad as Maryland drivers, just in a different way (I've done a comparative study but that's a blog for another day). So I'm a half hour away from the city and I'm already cussing. And if you can actually make it in to the city through the 1.2 billion areas of construction, you find that you have to go past 2 more constructions sites within spitting distance of my office. Frustrating yes, but at least PennDOT has 3 or 4 guys standing around doing nothing to give you something to watch while you are waiting in traffic.
Arrive at office, conversation with Parking Attendant, set-up laptop and equipment in cubicle, deal with a personality conflict, lunch with my immediate supervisor, hug & bullshit session with Girlfriend, long-ass meeting with one of the most annoyingly whiny people on the planet, work work work, more chitchat with Girlfriend, update and/or install new & various software on my laptop, realize it's dark outside and start packing up my shit to go home.
I haven't blogged much in the last year but when I have half the time it's to vent about difficulties regarding the move and now living with this strange new wonderful difficult man I love. There were ups but mostly downs and I, tired of crying and hating everything, started taking Prozac again after being off the stuff for several years.
So here I am, Friday, with everything chaotic under the sun going on, sick and tired, busy and productive, construction, meetings and long drives.
And I realized, on the drive home, that I was happy. I had, in fact, smiled and been happy all day. As I realized that, another thing occurred to me. Dawned on me like a rising sun and I wondered how I could have missed it.

I'm not depressed. I'm bored.

In case you haven't figured this out on your own, I am a Type A personality. And yet I've put myself in a position where I spend 80% of my day alone, I have no chance for promotion, and the only direct interaction with another living thing is if Bottlecap decides to wander into my office for a nap.
You may think that you are stuck in a rut going to work, working, and coming home, but think about it. You know that douchebag who cut you off in traffic this morning? That coworker with the stories about the neurotic girl/boyfriend? How you laughed at lunch and snorted tea up your nose? How you can't believe that blond chick is still getting away with making so much money when she's so incompetent?
Even if you are a stay-at-home mom or dad, you know you've got 8 billion things going on every day and an equal number of stories to tell.

I don't have that. None of it.

When I answer the question 'what did you do today sweetie?' with 'I worked', that's literally all I did. No one stopped by my desk with a funny story and I didn't see that bitch roll her eyes at me in the lunch room and I don't have little kids here saying cute things nor sticking shit up there noses and if any attractive consultants attended the meeting, I sure didn't see them.

So I didn't take my Prozac this morning. Instead, I'm compiling a list of places around town with free internet access and I'm going to start making rounds. Shortly, I'll be heading to Starbucks.
And I'm kind of hoping there is a douchebag at the next table.

7 Comments:

Blogger elle said...

This was savagely perfect morning-reading material. Thanks. (:

Mon Mar 09, 10:53:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Unknown said...

I've just moved out of my office back into my home office because everything was spread all over the god damn place and ohhhh shit what have I done....

I was office sharing and it had its annoying times

Now I'm gonna have to annoy the shit outta you!

lol

Mon Mar 09, 11:21:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Unknown said...

Ooops forgot to say

feel better soon and love the new blog

Mon Mar 09, 11:22:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Shelly said...

This is exactly how I think I would be if I worked from home.

Mon Mar 09, 01:43:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Pink said...

I too telecommute. I feel your pain. On one hand, it is nice to save on gas, lunches, clothing, etc., but on the other hand it is so very isolating.

Mon Mar 09, 01:46:00 PM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

It's been awhile, but I think if you look back, I'm pretty sure I predicted this might happen. Love that you've figured it out though. I'd be the same way. Those 6 months I was job hunting were torture -- I'm a people person for God's sake!

What about taking the Prozac AND doing the WiFi hopping a couple of days a week? A quick search of WiFi hotspots in your town show a few good options. Just not sure about whether it's good to randomly take the Prozac. I'm not a doctor, but I've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express.

Mon Mar 09, 06:45:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Unknown said...

I must be the opposite of you as far as personality type. I get exhausted being around people all the time. And I really enjoyed working from home those times that I have. It motivates me to get out and do things more often.

When I was out of work for six months back in 2001-2002 I was bored. But that was because I didn't have anything fulfilling to do, I was broke, and I was worried. Staying in the house all day started to drive me crazy. But I was so afraid of spending money that I wouldn't drive anywhere but to job interviews.

When I was working from home two years ago I loved it. The only drawback was getting busy and still being in my pjs when Matt came home from work (and still too busy to do more than greet him and go back to work). I never felt so grungy in my life. I made it a requirement to take my shower before I logged on to email because I knew it was too easy to get sucked in and not get to my personal stuff (and there went sleeping in a little longer, but it was definitely worth it).

Yeah, get out and enjoy yourself. I'm positive you'll feel better.

Wed Mar 11, 12:19:00 PM EDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •