I finally got to see Diego
Yep, that's the highlight of my week. For those without little one's at home, Diego is from the cartoon Go Diego Go. It's a Dora the Explorer spin-off. Diego is Dora's cousin. I've been home this week with my daughter who has been terribly ill. 75% of my time has been spent rocking her while watching various children's show while she napped fitfully. Since I work full-time, I've never seen the Diego show, though I've seen it advertised. Along with Diego, I've also discovered that I've missed a few other things. For example, my daughter can spell her name. She knows her telephone number. She has an interesting vocabulary that includes words like lovely, delightful, and shit. And I think the last has popped out at preschool occassionally because she followed it up with a variation of 'oh, crap' but it must not roll off the tongue as well because it comes out 'oh, crack', which is even funnier then the 'oh, shit'. She is also, as I type this, sitting here with her 'homework'. She can make a perfect 's' all by herself. Who knew? Yes, I'm feeling wistful and a little guilty. But I'll get over it. I have to get over it. While I never 'needed' to work, I always thrived on being independent. And I truly do love what I do. However, when the Paperweight walked out on me a month and a half ago, with no warning, I'd never been so truly grateful for my independence before. As sick as she's been, I've loved every second I've gotten to spend with her this week. Would I like to do it all the time? Of course! But, what I would love, would be for my daughter to grow up to be the kind of woman who has options. For her to never feel trapped. For her to be completely independent. While I hope she grows up to find a man much better then her father, I want her to know, that if she doesn't, she'll still be okay. More then okay. Free.

6 Comments:
Hope your daughter feels better soon. And that would be a good lesson to teach her as she gets older.
Michele sent me.
Very wise of you. I have three daughters (2 from my loins and one vile teenage step daughter who has lived with us the past two years). She isn't bad all the time. But when she has her moments, they are doozies.
I am raising my girls to have options. I, like you, never want them to be trapped or have to rely on someone else. I want them to be independent thinkers and strive for what they want in life. The Vile Teenager has been raised (by her bio mom) with aspirations of marrying a rich guy and never having to learn a skill, go to college, etc. Poor girl. She is going to have a very long life I’m afraid.
That was good reading. I'm going to use that phrase, "OH CRACK!" It's so much better. Sorry to hear about your paperweight. Same thing here, when I was five months pregnant he walked out. I wouldn't have it any other way for my son, KJ. For he and I would have been living in a form of hell had my paperweight stayed. Your dear daughter will be strong and wise.
Your post gave me goosebumps. I had a mother who had the same outlook as you. My father walked out when I as 8, and my mother brought us girls up to be strong, independent, and free. It was the best lesson I've ever learned in my life.
Here via Michele
Love the 'oh, crack!' That's perfect!
I hope she's doing better. Just know I'm thinking of you.
i thoroughly love you fauvester. i love that you love your daughter so completely. i love that you are independent and strong and FREE. i love that you want your daughter to have options. i love that you're my friend.
you're post gave me warm fuzzies. oh crack! i'm showing my humanity!
Post a Comment
<< Home