Foolish Games
I realize that I've never introduced you to my parents so let me do that now: Blog world these are my parents - Fred and Wilma. Fred and Wilma, this is blog world. How do you do? Pleased to meet ya. Charmed, I'm sure.
One thing I should warn you all about though. Fred and Wilma are crazy. Yep, you heard me right. Flippin' crazy. Fred has been diagnosed so (bi-polar disorder) but refused medication due to the fact that he's "fine, it's just the rest of the world that's fucked up". Wilma, well, her's is a little less obvious in the clinical sense. The Paperweight has said since the day he met her that she's evil. Yes, evil. We almost didn't get married because he wasn't sure he want to be related to her. I don't know if I'd call her evil…but I will say she's flippin' crazy.
I'll try to give you a little background, but I'm going to give you the Reader's Digest very condensed version, though Fred & Wilma probably deserve a blog dedicated to them alone.
Wilma was a nurse but never worked due to being a stay at home mom. They had us four kids in six years plus took in more then 25 foster kids over a ten year period.
Fred worked a lot. Manual labor mostly due to the fact that he was and still is illiterate.
We were very poor and very white trash.
Wilma has been a very conservative Catholic her entire life. The older she has gotten the more conservative she has become. As she entered her 60's she is now dangerously close to, if not already over the line, of what I would call religious mania. Also, as he has gotten older, Fred has begun joining her on this mania ride.
I have never known Fred and Wilma to be happy with their lives or with each other.
Fred and Wilma argue constantly and always have.
Because of all of this, unlike most parents who want their kids to do better then they did, Fred and Wilma are consistently self-serving, jealous, bitter, and will try to make you look and/or feel bad just so they don't feel so bad about their wasted lives.
Fred and Wilma are not at all happy that I filed for (gasp!) divorce.
Fred and Wilma have spent the last two months making snide comments about me, about me getting divorced, comments about how this will screw-up the kids, about how I shouldn't date and if I do date it's only because somebody wants to have sex with me and I'll probably end up pregnant. Comments like "we don't know how or why this has happened but I know it's not our fault because we've stayed married for 37 years." Comments to the effect of how I should be more grateful that Fred is in The Boy's life now that his father has left him…Um, yeah. The Paperweight has his problems (obviously because I'm divorcing him) but he talks to those kids every single day and is an active part of their lives. Not to mention that even on The Paperweight's worst parenting day, he was a better male role model then Fred's white trash bi-polar version of parenting could ever dream of being.
Or the really really short version:
My parents have been saying mean things to me and about me regarding my decision to get divorced.
Well, me being the stand-up-for-myself kind of girl I am, I very constructively asked them on Monday to stop it.
Stop making negative comments about me.
Stop making it sound like my getting divorced is the end of the world.
Accept the fact that I am capable of making my own decisions.
Accept the fact that the kids are happy, I'm happy, even The Paperweight is happy because this was the right thing to do.
I do not need you to save me or the kids because we are fine and The Paperweight is their father and takes an active role in their life.
Quit dangling the fact that you've 'stayed married for 37 years' up in the air because maybe you both would have been happy if you hadn't.
I'm tired of hearing you two argue constantly and bitch to me about the other one and then give me relationship advice all in the same breathe.
Please stop being so negative. It isn't good for the kids to hear and I don't want to hear it either.
Fred and Wilma's reaction? I've been disowned.
They will not be seeing us anymore and they 'hope the kids will understand'. This was after I was informed (via email) that perhaps Fred & Wilma could have been happy but they weren't because of me - I'm the reason why their marriage is so bad. (don't ask me to explain that because I can't. I think she was just trying to hurt me. But I know the difference between real and make-believe so who cares).
This was my response:
"This is your choice. I assumed I could ask my parents to not give me a hard time and that would be okay. If you’d prefer to not see us rather than act appropriately, then that’s okay with me."
I haven't heard from them since.

15 Comments:
Good for you! I had bad parents so I understand completely. Maybe one day I will tell my dad off. It would hurt his feelings, but would take loads off of me after all the crap he has done to me as a kid.
Yay for you!
*applause*
Good for you! I had bad parents so I understand completely. Maybe one day I will tell my dad off. It would hurt his feelings, but would take loads off of me after all the crap he has done to me as a kid.
Yay for you!
*applause*
Sorry for the double post. Puter farted!
*shrugs*
Your right on the money with the fact that they like to make you feel bad because it makes them feel superior. I'm sorry you're dealing with this, parents should never be like that but we all know their kind is out there.
Thank God you were able to come out of that home as a differn't person then them...probably because of them...
Hang in there.
Wow... WTG for getting out of there in one piece and being normal. That's just scary that they would respond that way. Sorry you had to deal with that.
I'm sure that while dealing with them on this has been difficult, I'm also betting that it's been empowering. Amazing that they would be in such a snit over your comments that they would choose to remove themselves from their own grandchildren's lives. Talk about not seeing the forest for the trees. You rock!
Good for you for standing up for yourself! HUGS!
my mother and I have had a "trying" elationship since the day i was born...she's an acoholic and a mean one, at that. i have been "disowned" so many times, I have lost count. I do talk to her now,but my brother has totally written her off......it's your parent's loss, girl......sounds like you'll be better off. Keep on keepin' on!
Family relationships can make you crazy. Life should not feel like trying to pull a ten pound roast out of your ass with a plastic fork. And, considering your travails so far (and I totally empathise with the whole divorce and dating thing) it seems really amazing that the parents you had would actually take away the plastic fork and hand you a pair of chopsticks to do the job. Jeeeze.
There are probably many layers of feeling attending this episode. Iknow that there were for me. Anger, sadness, etc...Good luck, I still think you did the right thing by standing up for your boundaries.
My heart breaks for you. I have a "CRAZY" father and I know what it feels like to have parents that are just not capable of being what you need them to be. I am quite proud of the way you stood up to them though. I always made excused for my dad. In my head I would really let him have it but I never had the courage to say it out loud.
K
You go girl!! I'm glad you have pulled yourself up and out. I too had a bad relationship with my family, parents/brother/sister and even MY own daughter, whom I am currently not speaking to and don't plan to speak to in the near future. But our story is a whole lot different than mine growing up and yours. Sometimes it's a good thing to move away from family. I always say, "you can pick your friends, but you can't pick your family and I don't have to hang around you just cause your family".
It does sound like you're better off without them at this point. So many adults are still slaves to their parents opinions. Good for you for going your own way.
I think we are related. You must be my long lost sister.
what a gem of a couple. i'm glad (and so proud) that you were able to respond in a healthy manner to their cycle of disorder, blame, guilt, and anger. it's not easy to swallow situations like this, but oftentimes, the positive consequences far outweigh the negative.
love you!
"This is your choice. I assumed I could ask my parents to not give me a hard time and that would be okay. If you’d prefer to not see us rather than act appropriately, then that’s okay with me."
Good for you!
It is sad when children can be more mature than their own parents.
Good for you.
Post a Comment
<< Home