My thoughts for the day
Why can't they make a thesaurus that just tells you the right word? But noooooo, I have to think of a word first. What good is that? If I could think of the right word, I wouldn't need the damn thesaurus in the first place...
Okay, okay. I can do better then that. From my email this morning:
Today's thought is:
Responsibility for Family Members
I can still remember my mother clutching her heart, threatening to have a heart attack and die, and blaming it on me.
--Anonymous
For some of us, the idea that we were responsible for other people's feelings had its roots in childhood and was established by members of our nuclear family. We may have been told that we made our mother or father miserable, leading directly to the idea that we were also responsible for making them happy. The idea that we are responsible for our parents' happiness or misery can instill exaggerated feelings of power and guilt in us.
We do not have this kind of power over our parents - over their feelings, or over the course of their lives. We do not have to allow them to have this kind of power over us.
Our parents did the best they could. But we still do not have to accept one belief from them that is not a healthy belief. They may be our parents, but they are not always right. We do not have to allow their destructive beliefs to control our feelings, our behaviors, our life, or us.
Today, I will begin the process of setting myself free from any self-defeating beliefs my parents passed on to me. I will strive for appropriate ideas and boundaries concerning how much power and how much responsibility I can actually have in my relationship with my parents.

7 Comments:
Hugs. I know you can do it!
If it helps any, millions of people go to therapy because of their parents....sad huh
I got really mashed by my parents. I empathize with your journey. It screwed up almost everything until I unwired myself from it. Now I am much better at recognizing, making, speaking and keeping my boundaries. It makes a world of difference!
Oh, God, I really needed to see something like this today. I don't know if it's comforting or sad that so many people can relate to having screwed up parents.
The idea postulated by your quote of the day is all fine and good but what if the kid(s) really are effups or quasieffups and the parents were doing the best they could with what they had available. Sometimes I wonder if the blame the rents card gets played too often VS stand up and be accountable for you own shit....and be honest about it.
been there, done that. managed to maintain and improve a relationship with my mother over the years, despite some horrible events between us. too bad i never got that opportunity with my father. i do know he did the best he knew how to do. the best he COULD do was much better than that. i still struggle with the negative self-defeating beliefs that i inherited from both my parents, but every day is a chance to rise above them and repudiate those beliefs.
damn. i need to STFU.
love you!
muah!
wow - good for you. this is just not an easy thing in the least. i have a few running conversations in my head that are courtesy of my stepmom. it's hard to let go of some of those lovely scripts. great good luck. (i got to you via karamia)
Post a Comment
<< Home