Photobucket

2/27/2007

Letter to my love

Dear Thing,

The long drive home gave me some much needed time to think. In some aspects, I ended up with more questions in lieu of answers, but at least it allowed me to begin to wrap my head around some of the things I was feeling. I would have loved to have stayed with you and talked about these things with you...but...with the storm...and your cold...and, well, I didn't really have anything to SAY anyway. I needed time, as I said, to figure out - I felt, but I didn't know what or what it was about. So I figured I’d take some more time this week before I sat down and told you my thoughts, but it occurred to me that I have access to someone with first hand knowledge of my relationship skills, or lack thereof. So I came home and questioned/talked with The Paperweight for over an hour. It was kind of awkward, more for him then me, but he was willing to be helpful and honest and it actually did me some good.

See, the thing is…I’m in love with you and I will do whatever it takes to make myself worthy of your time, attention and love…even if it means speaking with my ex-husband about what bad traits I had during our marriage. He, surprisingly enough, agrees with you and doesn't think I have a selfish bone in my body. I just have a tendency to be a lot more upfront then most women…making me appear more domineering…or selfish...

And yes, I do know what I want. I want to be with you….more then anything. To see you snuggled into your pillow first thing in the morning, to rub your aching back at night, and everything in between…I want that more then I’ve ever wanted anything. I love you more then anything in the world. What I feel for you is more then...it's just MORE. Sometimes it feels like it will consume me. This, the majority of the time, fills me with a happiness that I have never known. A happiness that I wish I could both share with the world and keep all to myself... And a part of the time, this fills me with great fear. It appears that just as I trained myself in my marriage physically – to have multiple orgasms quickly because it was now or never, I realized that I seem to have conditioned myself emotionally as well. I want to be with you all the time, touch you all the time, email you all the time, make love to you all the time…because it is one of my greatest fears that soon our ’10 minutes’ will be up and so I better capture as much happiness as I can while it lasts…

Am I over-analyzing? Oh hell, I’m sure. That’s a definite fault of mine I recognized. There were so many signs I missed with The Paperweight…things I should have seen, but didn’t. I’m terrified of making the same mistakes. Not that you would do the things The Paperweight did, I don’t mean that…It’s just, I’m afraid of being hurt again – which would be bad enough in general, but to lose you…I don’t think I’d handle that well at all. And see the thing too is, I don’t want to hurt you. I want to make you as happy as you make me. I don't want to ever take you for granted. I don't want to ever assume anything. I would like to know your wants, desires and needs. So, I have to ask, in an ideal perfect world, no jobs, kids, ex-husbands, time, money, anything to consider but what you want…what would you ask for?

I want to be with you. I know this. I can not afford to be the least bit selfish or presumptuous, because if I fuck this up, it would break my heart.

Love,
Fauve

2/25/2007

Got me again...

Tagged by Used*To*Be*Me

Look at the list of books below.
*Bold the ones you’ve read
*Italicize the ones you want to read
*leave blank the ones that you aren’t interested in. If you are reading this, tag your it!

1.The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
2.Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3.To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10.A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11.Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12.Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13.Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16.Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
17. Fall on Your Knees(Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling)
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie(Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. 1984 (Orwell)
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True(Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible (not in it’s entirety)
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolsoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving)
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down(Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth(Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100.Ulysses (James Joyce)

2/24/2007

Slacker

Yes, I have been the last month, I know. Work, still, is crazy. And what little free time I have is spent with the kids and The Thing. Actually, I'm currently at The Thing's house - It's The Paperweight's weekend with the kids...

Great changes are coming, at work and personally. We, however, are heading out to lunch so you all are just going to have to wait. [evil laughter]

2/20/2007

Meme

Yes, it's the "5 Things You Don't Know About Me" meme, which, actually, I've never done before...I did the 5 Weird Things one, but that' it. But I've been tagged by Beth solely because I was nice enough to do what she asked and ask her a question...So I have to answer my own question and then 4 of the others from her list.

1. (this is the question I asked) If you found out there had been a mix up at the hospital and Mia was not your biological child, would you give her back or fight to keep her?
For me, it would depend on witch of my kids we were talking about. Lately, I think I'd give The Boy back....Actually, my answer is pretty much the same as Beth's - I'd fight to keep them. Accept, in my case, I think I would like to at least know my biological child...maybe set up visitation or something?

2. Where were you when you lost your virginity?
I was on a beach. And it was about 1/10th as romantic as that sounds.

3. do you fart in front of each other?? what about pee?
Regarding the first part, Good Lord NO!, and I think both The Thing and I would rather implode first before we ever did. The second part? Well, lol, that's funny because I was just discussing that with his friend, Buttercup, during my last visit. I am not at all shy when it comes to that; the whole family is like that. The Thing is the exact opposite and wants me no where near the bathroom when he is in there. I brought it up once, because I thought it was funny, "so you can [insert sex act here] but you can't pee in front of me?!" He didn't think it was nearly as funny as I did. So the answer is no, because he would die of embarrassment and we can not have that.

4. If [the thing] wanted to undergo a sex change operation to become the woman he always wanted to be, would you stay married to him and share your sexy yoga pants?
Well, we aren't married, but yes, I'd stay with him. While I freely admit to loving his penis, I love all of him and that is only one part. Of course, I have the advantage of being bisexual so I'm sure this would be easier for me to deal with then most women.

5. Guilty Pleasure - what is the worst show you have ever liked/loved/wanted to make out with?
Buffy the Vampire Slayer. There, I said it.

And I'll tag everyone, in a way. You can choose to a) do this meme yourself, leave a note in the comments and I'll link to it or b) since a few of you don't have blogs or have done this a million times and I haven't, you can choose to leave a new question for me in the comments section.

2/18/2007

So here's some more shit

I just had the most incredible weekend ever. I'm not going in to all the details because my readership is always greater when I'm bitter vs. schmoopy [ya sick bastards, snort] but suffice it to say that The Thing was here this weekend...and after 4 months (this coming Wednesday) the 'honeymoon' still isn't over. He's amazing.

Let's see now...what was all that other shit I was supposed to talk about? The Paperweight is getting weird on me. He's like all...trying to be...nice...and stuff. It's fucking weird. And I don't mean in the actually paying child support on time kind of nice. I mean, in the telling me I have a nice ass kind of way. (shudder) And he's made side comments about The Thing - nothing major that I could say 'shuddup ya liar' but obvious jealous-over-the-new-guy kind of stuff. Now, lest you forget, WE'RE DIVORCED! He didn't want me when we were married, what's up with this stuff now? Male ego? [rolling my eyes] Ass. So it's been, what?, 13 months now since The Paperweight and I split. It feels so much longer then that. So much has changed - I've changed so much. It's almost embarrassing now to look back on what I had become at the end of my marriage. I hope to God I never let that happen again. I think it's a good sign that I forgot about the anniversary of The Paperweight leaving. It shows that I'm not looking back - only forward. So The Paperweight better just keep his hands to himself or I'll pop him one.

Oh yeah, that reminds me...On Friday, I threatened to punch a co-worker in the face if she didn't get out of my office. Work tomorrow should be interesting, to say the least.
Yeah, I really don't play well with others. That's something I really need to learn. Perhaps this year?

2/16/2007

Ugh...they got me!

Yep, let's see how this goes...Blogger wouldn't let me sign in until I "upgraded". And I haven't heard anything good from those who have used it, which is why I didn't switch until I was forced in to it. Wish me luck.

Holy shit! Is it Friday already?!?! That's good because that means I'll see The Thing tonight, but sheez...
Work has really and truly sucked.
I know that I should probably talk about what most of you seemed interested in, but most of you commented on my smoking, but I'm not going to discuss that yet because non and ex smokers are never reasonable about it. I mean, seriously folks, why? Are you the one who is going to croak? Uh, noooo
So why get your panties all in a twist?
Had a loved one die from smoking? I'm sorry for your loss and all...but...I've had loved ones die from heart attacks. Do you see me getting all pissy and rude with overweight people, trying to pass laws, or picketing outside of McDonald's?
I don't smoke in my house, car or in restaraunts and I quit smoking while I was pregnant with both kids so don't give me any crap about second hand smoke either.
And I'm still on that same pack of cigarettes I bought anyway. Just enough to keep me from killing my co-workers or one of my children. And my fat ass has thanked me as well.

Okay, guess I ended up talking about it anyway. It's my blog. Deal with it.

So where was I? Oh yes, work has really and truly sucked. I'm overworked, under paid, and not at all appreciated. And I'm tired of the hypocrisy. I'll get slammed with work while others will piss away time like it was the morning after an all night drinking binge. I had just about had my fill anyway when the asinine schedule was released for my current project, and the deadline was moved up a month. As if a shortened schedule wasn't bad enough, the deadline was moved to a day I had been planning on taking off because The Thing had planned a romantic getaway weekend. Fuck! Remember my surgery at the end of last month? When I had to take 3 days off and was in so much pain that I was popping percocets and still bawling my eyes out anyway? What I didn't tell you was that they had sent a laptop home with me and I spent that time off in bed...working...
And the whole next week, still in pain, standing at my desk with my pants unbuttoned because I was still so swollen and sore, and these guys just kept slamming me with stuff...and being complete fuckheads about it too...until I just couldn't take it anymore.
I wrote an email to the Principal of my company and copied all of the people on my project and told them I'd be taking my day off next month despite the deadline because they could live one fucking day without me...and if they couldn't, they needed to start paying me more.
Things eased up a little after that, but too much time has passed now, I think. They are starting to be fuckheads again.
[pout] I need a hug...

2/11/2007

Love like the movies

Yes, okay...so it's been a week since I've posted and I've gotten my second request for an update so here ya go. However, my mind is scattered and I have a long long list of things I could/should/want to talk about...so I probably won't end up talking about any of them really. I'll just throw shit out there and whatever catches your eye, let me know and I'll get more in depth about things in future posts. Promise.

For now, I think I'll start with the most recent and work my way back. You haven't heard from me for the last few days because I've been at The Thing's house. And while it's true that he has not one but two computers and a kickass internet connection, I tend to be occupied with better things then blogging whilst with My Thing. Especially this weekend since we weren't together the previous weekend and the weekend before that I was in a pain/percocet induced haze due to my surgery...so it had been three weeks since The Thing and I had any, uh, quality time together. And once again proving what a sweetie he is, when I mentioned Wednesday evening how much I was missing him, The Thing immediately started coughing, stated that he thought he was coming down with something, and that he wouldn't be able to make it into work on Friday...so if I happened to be feeling poorly myself and didn't think I'd be able to make it to my job on Friday...well...we could have a long weekend. My response?
::COUGH, COUGH, HACK::
So I arrived at The Thing's house Thursday evening.
[grin]
And remember the whole Dave Matthews vs. The Other Dave Matthews confusion? Well, I have now been properly introduced to him and his girlfriend, and with said introduction, let me introduce to you The Thing's friends Inigo and Buttercup. And before any of you movie dorks jump on me, yes I am well aware that Buttercup was Wesley's girl and not Inigo's but, well, he makes a better Inigo and Buttercup was the only chick in the flick. So deal with it. Besides, it gives me the chance to say, Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father prepare to die. And what the fuck is better then that?

Saturday spent with them provides much for discussion...starting with just the basic 'friend' issue. Thing has more friends then people I've met in my life. I have difficulty making and maintaining friendships. I just don't play well with others, I usually say. I actually think it's just because I've spent the last decade and a half sheltered in an unhealthy environment. But that's one of the items that will need an entire post in and of itself to discuss...

That and Buttercup totally needs to start a blog of her own. I'm trying to talk her in to it. I've even picked a name for it already. Would you guys check out a blog titled 'At least I don't shit my pants', if there was one?

Eduardo called me this evening to wish me a Happy Valentine's day. WTF?

Here's another item for the "Discuss in depth at a future time' list: I totally missed/forgot the one year anniversary of the day The Paperweight walked out on me and the kids. It was like 2-3 weeks ago...I just remembered this weekend. Says a lot, doesn't it?

Um, yeah...and I think The Paperweight is still in love with me...at least, as much as he is capable of 'loving' someone other then himself. Add that to the list as well.

I quit smoking after my surgery. I put on 10 lbs in the first 10 days. I quit weighing myself after that. By day 13, I couldn't button my pants. Day 14, I was biting the heads off of small children. Day 15, I bought a pack of cigarettes.

Work sucks. I mean really. I did a whole 'I put my foot down you all can go fuck yourselves' thing week before last. It was awesome. Add that to the list.

I've also gotten around to adding and updating some links. Make sure to check out my fellow bloggers and Marcia's gorgeous charms.

Oh, and if you're not listening to The Avett Brothers, you should be.

2/05/2007

Part 3 of 3

Yes, the long awaited ending is here. Though, as you sillies should have figured out by now, it was really only the beginning...

For anyone new, you'll want to read Part 1 and Part 2 before reading this post. No, I mean it; quit reading this until you read the others. Done? Okay…

Yes, I promised to post this at the end of last week but both The Thing and I are at fault. Mostly him because he was late getting this to me and this is my blog so I can say whatever I want. Partly my fault because, well, he did send this to me yesterday, but I needed a little time to decide if I wanted to post it verbatim as I did the other two parts.

As you found out at the end of Part 2, I went home with The Thing the night I met him. And since you are all smart boys & girls, you probably realize that we did not spend the entire night playing tiddly-winks and then went to church the next morning. And as I warned you at the beginning of Part 1, The Thing tends to be much more detailed and honest then I. So…anyway...he talks about it.
Um…you know…IT
Ahem…
Anyway, after thinking about it, I decided to leave it (blush) in and I will once again post what The Thing wrote in it's entirety.
1. Because it is honest and accurate.
2. Because I loathe to censor anyone but I never want to do that to My Thing.
3. Because you all know (at least you do if you've been reading this blog for the last year) that I have never done anything like this before nor am I a big whore. I was with The Paperweight since I was a teenager, I was with Eduardo last summer because I hadn't had sex in forever, then there was The Thing. If I'm a whore, in my opinion, I'm a lousy one.

But I thought I should warn you too…in case it was a little TMI. Though, don't worry he keeps it short; the account, not the actual event. When he says 'long time', he's not kidding. You girls would…um, never mind...

The only changes I made were to the times given. He was off by about 2 hours and I figured, well, if we're going to be so damn accurate… [grin]
So I give you…

Part 3

Now, I’d prepared myself for the Great Big No – because, after all, if I was this girl - there’s no way in hell I’d accept an invitation to leave a bar to go to a strange house in the suburbs with 2 guys I’ve know for, at best, 3 hours. A house where, thanks to the very talented masons that have long since died, you could never possibly be heard screaming through the thick brick walls of a basement.

So hearing her “Yes” (or “Sure” or “OK” or whatever it was) is about the best rush in the world.

Now I feel compelled to point out that Taller girl is NOT drunk. She is very calm and together and in fact, seems to have it all mapped out. “OK, I need to be back at my car early so I can head home to the kids – can you bring me back?” I say, “Sure.” (If Shorter Girl was still around, she’d have cock blocked me back to Maryland by now.)

We gather our coats and I get a shiver. But not because of the pending cold, but an excited kind of fear. Which makes perfect sense to me because the perfection of the night thus far, just doesn’t happen - you know? It’s not really REAL. So some cosmic collision, which has been transpiring for at least 34 years, will soon kill the buzz of this entire night. Perhaps she’ll rob & kill both Thing 2 and myself and leave OUR bodies in the basement.

The three of us leave the warmth of the bar and dive out into the Pittsburgh cold. As promised, there is a cab waiting. It’s not our original driver (whom we had a great conversation with on the way to the bar) but he’ll do – just get us back in one piece please.

As we get onto the highway, Thing 2 starts asking questions about Taller Girl’s work and it turns out that he happens to have used the same software that she does with her job. “KEEP AWAY FROM HER, YOU FUCKER” passes through my transom about 500 times.

Then something happens, I get defensive. Despite all of the coolness that this girl has exuded thus far in the evening, the possibility of her doing this type of thing EVERY Saturday night now enters my head. Jesus, that would really suck if she did. But she doesn’t SEEM like that kind of girl. WHORE. I put the thought aside and listen to the two of them talk.

15 minutes after leaving the bar, we arrive at Thing 2’s house. It’s a big, dark house. Big, dark and lonely since my cousin (and most of the furniture) moved out. The place is sparsely lit and the brick walls don’t help illuminate the ridiculousness of everything that’s happened over the past few hours. Well then, I guess this really is OK. Some greater being has approved the random series of events that ended with us in this house together.

The living room consists of a single chair, coffee table and a few lamps with 20 watt bulbs. “I’m leaving NOW”, I convince myself Taller Girl is thinking. She doesn’t even slide her right hand into her purse, cocking back the mace. What a sweet girl.

Thing 2 offers us drinks. To myself “OF COURSE and QUICKLY PLEASE.” I gotta get rid of this fear that was still lingering with me.

One room of the house that remained intact after my cousin’s departure was the basement. This was relegated as the “party room” early on and everything in it is and always was, Thing 2’s. A lounge of sorts, the basement is everything a basement should be – Cold, dark and with a half-bathroom and no door. To warm the place up, there is a record player (yes vinyl, folks), a rolling bar stocked with wine and misc. spirits, an old-school arcade-style video game and one of those mini pool tables.

We open a bottle of wine. Soon, she’s alternating between laughter, snorting and occasional giggling. I’m sure she’s drunk now. She excuses herself and goes upstairs to call Shorter Girl and let her know that she did not head home, but in fact, was over Thing 2’s house. Finally, something sensible! – letting another human being know where the fuck you are! She comes back and confesses to lying to her friend by telling her that she DROVE over to Thing 2’s house, not that she got into a cab with 2 men who she just met at a bar. I didn’t understand why the quibbling over the semantics - like I said earlier, it seemed totally ridiculous that she’d actually “come home” with us. For anyone keeping score here, I have not so much as touched Taller Girl. I think I’m still in shock that a GIRL came home with ME.

I sit across from her and we talk more about kids, being married and her ex-husband. He does not sound like a nice man. What a shame, I think to myself; she’s REALLY cool and definitely deserving of a lot of niceness. Thing 2 has her write in his Basement Journal – where all that pass through there (yes, even “whores” we pick up at bars) write something witty, sign and date it.

We open a 2nd bottle of wine.

I am now sitting on the floor of the basement, thumbing through Thing 2’s albums. He has a lot of great records and a lot of shitty ones. The shitty ones are there as jokes, as he puts it. Riiiiiight. Taller Girl comes over and sits next to me. Close. She leans over my shoulder looking at the records with me. I guess she DOES like me.

Notwithstanding the fact that Pittsburgh’s own, Donnie Iris (HOLY CHRIST IS HE HORRIBLE) made his way into the evening’s playlist, we continue to drink and listen to some great records. It’s nearly 4 am by now and Thing 2 says he’s going upstairs to find a place to pass out.

OH SHIT – What the fuck do I do now? I quite seriously had not thought about this part of the evening. I panicked and poured more wine. Thing 2 came to the rescue and offers two suggestions –a spare room is available on the 3rd floor if “someone” wanted to crash on the fold out cots – or there is the spare room on the 2nd floor which was a little cozier, had a TV and small pull-out sofa that “someone” could also crash there. I braced myself for a “Well, I should probably get going” from Taller Girl, but that would have meant her trying to hail a cab at 4 in the morning which wasn’t going to happen. Nor was me getting behind the wheel of my car. But she didn’t seem interested in leaving. Or sleeping.

Thing 2 goes off to bed and the two of us remain behind, alone together in the basement. She is sitting a small sofa/love seat and, after excusing myself to go to the bathroom, change the oil in my car and write a short novel about 16th Century Woodworking, I eventually make my way over and sit next to her, nervously flipping through Thing 2’s records as we talk for the next hour. I’m prattling on about something and she leans over and kisses me, which shuts me up. Finally.

Her kiss tastes good.

We do this for a while. My head is now spinning from excitement and the wine. I make the next logical move – my hands move downward and gently massage her right leg (WHAT?). She seems to enjoy it so I move over to the left one. Within the next 60 seconds, I pull her jeans to the floor, move her panties to the side and go down on her. For a loooooong time. She wasn’t expecting that. OK, - I- wasn’t expecting that. She reciprocates. We fuck on the pool table.

What the FUCK am I doing?

It doesn’t matter; I was totally fueled by the collection of every single moment of perceived affection that I’d received from her that evening. It just felt “right” being with her. And not at all in that macho (insert deep voice here), “I’m getting laid!” kind of way – but in a genuine, kind and familiar way (as genuine as one can be 7 hours after shaking someone’s hand for the first time).

Now as comfortable as a pool table in a Pittsburgh basement at 5 in the morning in late October can be, we mutually agree that going upstairs “to bed” would be a good thing.

Up on the 3rd floor, we find 2 thin fold-out cots. I put them together. We fuck again.

It’s after 7am and we’re being greeted by daybreak - as good a time as any to rest.

I get up an hour later, needing desperately to pee. As I get out of bed, I see her beautiful head pop out of the mound of covers (which she had pretty much taken complete ownership of during the night). “Coffee?” she asks. “Hm. YES! Coffee. I’ll go make some and come right back”. As I head downstairs, I mumble to myself “What the FUCK is going on here?” I asked myself. “Wow”.

None of the coffee material (grinder, beans, coffee maker) which I’d seen Thing 2 make DOZENS of times before, now appears to be visible. I open cabinets. ALL of them. Wine + 1 hour of sleep = poor ability to perceive objects right in front of you. I can’t find a goddamnthing. I climb the stairs to the floor, empty-handed and with a feeling I’ve let this total stranger down. And I feel BAD about it. “Wow”.

She tells me that I can “buy her coffee” on the way back to her car, signaling that it is time for her to go. I am BUMMED OUT about this. Why does she have to leave so early, I think? She probably does this a lot, I think. Horrible. “Wow.”

I grab my GPS from my overnight bag and we head out to find coffee and her car. I drive past 57 mini-marts and “Fresh Coffee Here” signs before I’m able to perceive one of them BEFORE I pass it. I go in and get us 2 black coffees. It’s the best damn coffee in the world.

We make it back to her car, I give her the obligatory “Had a great time” (which I really did) and as I do, I realize how LAME that sounds, so I follow it with a “Here, let me give you my cell phone number”. I write it on the back of a business card (again) and hand it to her (again). She smiles, gets out of my car and into hers. I wait for her to get it started and to pull away before I leave.

As she drives off and I head back to Thing 2’s house to gather my stuff and head home, I wonder if I’ll see her again. Or if this is something she just “does” when she goes out. I really don’t know. But I really like her.

On my way back home, I spend the first 15 minutes on the turnpike trying to punch in the GPS, the name of the town she lived in – just to see where it is. I can’t remember the exact name of the place – was it a “Ville” or a “Town” or something else? I finally find it and JESUS is it far from Pittsburgh.

When I get home I head straight for the computer and punch in the name of her town… finding out how many miles it is from Maryland and how long it would take someone from Maryland – to get there – one weekend, sometime… you know (looking at the ground, swinging foot back and forth) - if that’s cool and stuff…

2/03/2007

Brrrrrrr!

This is actually an excerpt from an email I wrote this morning...but I liked it...
fyi my laundry room was an addition. You have to go outside via the kitchen door to get to it. Oh, and everything is all better now. No worries.

It's 2 degrees here currently. Hi today is supposed to be 18. I awoke to The Girl's call about 7:30am and stumbled and mumbled my way into her room and then into the bathroom...where I discovered I had no water. What? I'm so careful! I leave the light on (per landlady's instructions) in the laundry room 24 hrs a day and I even added a space heater (since said landlady refuses to fix the actual base heater in the room). And I know I had water just last night because I did laundry...uh...wait
The Boy...
did...
the...

I ran outside to the laundry room and sure enough, he hadn't shut the door completely and it was now standing wide open in the beautiful 2 degree morning.

I cranked up the space heater, even started the dryer, pushed the door shut tight and prayed. I opened the taps a little in the kitchen hoping perhaps that if they hadn't been frozen completely or long enough to burst the pipes, I could thaw them out and get the water going again. About an hour later, I started getting water gurgling noices from the taps - this was starting to look promising. A half hour after that, I heard the glorious sound of rushing water coming from my kitchen sink. Eureka!

I went to the kitchen, shut off the faucet and started to pour myself a fresh cup of coffee (thank god i always fill up the pot the night before, eh?) when I realized I could still hear the sound of rushing water...
Thoughts of The Boy's impending death filled my head as I rushed once again outside to the laundry room. Sure enough, at least one of the pipes had burst and I was face to face with a cascading water fall inside my laundry room flowing over the top of my washing machine and out in to the bright morning sunlight...

Most unfortunetly, this comes exactly two days after we got a notice on our door from our landlady asking, in light of the ongoing single digit temperatures, for us to be most diligint about the heat in our laundry rooms so our pipes wouldn't freeze. So, of course, when I called, she yelled at me. She actually yelled at me. And informed me that she was on the way out the door so she would call the guy to come fix it - when she got back this afternoon...sigh...

So as I write this little tale, I'm sipping the coffee for which I am most grateful while The Girl plays unawares and The Boy is out in that beautiful 2 degree morning, cleaning up the water soaked mess in the laundry room.

2/02/2007

Synchronicity

See what you have to ask yourself is what kind of person are you? Are you the kind that sees signs, sees miracles? Or do you believe that people just get lucky? Or, look at the question this way: Is it possible that there are no coincidences?
- Graham Hess (Mel Gibson), Signs

Put plainly, synchronicity is the experience of two or more occurrences (beyond coincidentally) in a manner that is logically meaningful- but inexplicable- to the person or persons experiencing them. Such events would also have to suggest an underlying pattern in order to satisfy the definition of synchronicity as developed by Jung. It differs from mere coincidence in that synchronicity implies not just a happenstance, but an underlying pattern or dynamic that is being expressed through meaningful relationships or events.

I know The Thing promised Part 3 would be done for posting by tonight, but I want to warn you that depending on how late it is (I'm in bed by 9) it may not actually get posted until tomorrow. But, as anxious as I am to read the final installment myself, this would actually be better because it gives me the chance to 'review' some of the stuff The Thing has already written about and to discuss events that...well, now that you guys know how schmoopey we really are, I feel like I can discuss them freely without anyone throwing things at me. Except maybe Steve. I wonder about him sometimes...

First off, many thanks to everyone for not gasping in horror at the end of Part 2 when you learned that I was going to go home with two 'strange' guys I had met in a bar a couple hours earlier. However, if you ever met My Thing you would understand…he asked me later that night why I agreed to go back to Thing 2's house - how did I know I could trust him? And I said, 'I didn't trust Thing 2, but I trusted you and you trusted Thing 2 so I knew it was okay.' The Thing claimed he didn't understand seeing as how I knew him only as long as I knew Thing 2. To which I asked, how did he know he could trust me enough to ask me back? I could be carrying a weapon on me just as easily as they could…and they were both pretty much drunk (Thing 2 actually passes out before the night is over) where as I had only had a couple beers the entire night. Anyway, the point is, I just trusted The Thing and he just trusted me. Neither of us could explain it then and we still can't. But both of us were having our own thoughts about 'chance and random events' of the evening which were whispering in our ears…and in the following weeks, we ended up discussing these things with each other. And once we had each other's stories in addition to our own…well…synchronicity…

And I know some of you may be thinking 'serendipity'…or you may be thinking 'bullshit'…I'm just the presenter of information. I'll let each of you decide for yourself.

Things we think about…
*The recent break-up of Thing 2's relationship after 11 years that brought The Thing in to the area and out for the evening.

*The Thing & I each being single at the same time.
- The Thing had been in a long term relationship that had just ended 3 months prior.
- My husband walking out on me quite unexpectedly earlier in the year.
- The divorce it's self. If you remember, my divorce was supposed to be final 3 weeks earlier then it actually occurred. If not for a backlog of cases at the courthouse, my divorce would have gone through as planned…making my divorce party occur 3 weeks earlier...
*Our being in the same place at the same time. Besides the timing of the divorce and subsequent party:
- Remember, The Thing lives 3 hours away in another state.
- This bar was not the place where my divorce party was to occur. Girlfriend and I had a place up the street all picked out, even had it typed already into the invitation. When we went online to find a link to include, we ran across this Pub advertising three bands for the night of my party. We decided, at the last minute, that we would go there instead.

*My girlfriends picking, if not him, then at least his table, to accost.

*Thing 2's suggestion to buy my party drinks, which started The Thing and I talking.
- And remember, I had stated this in my account of the evening, and Thing has in his as well. This bar was packed…except for the one opening…right beside me…

*This I did not find out until about a month later...The Thing had lunch earlier that day with his cousin (Thing 2's ex), who admitted that she was already seeing someone else…someone she met in a completely random way and had fallen for and isn't it odd how that stuff happens? To which The Thing said, 'That shit is just coincidence.' To which she replied with only one phrase….'You'll just know."

*Earlier that day, right before the party actually, I met a new guy for the first time from the whole Internet Dating thing I had been doing. We met at a coffee shop, which I thought was just a beginning and then we'd go on to have dinner or whatever. And, I had thought, if we hit it off I'd invite him to the party. He, who had been under the impression we were meeting only for coffee, made other plans for the evening…thus removing him from my evening's plans (and free to pick up The Thing). I will honestly admit, I completely forgot this man existed on this planet. After meeting The Thing, how could I think about anyone else? (I'm a dork. I know. We already agreed on this, remember?) Anyway, I got an email from this guy about a week later. I saw his name in my Inbox and I was like 'oh, shit! I forgot all about this dude, lol. His email, I swear to God, was apologizing for not being in contact with me, but when he had gone out that night, he had met someone. Quite at random…

*And of course, there was the 'connection' between The Thing and I. I realize this term is probably overused, but I can't think of another at the moment. But there was…I won't discuss the night we met because I don't want to ruin his upcoming Part 3. But our first phone conversation was almost 4 hours long. More then 3 months later, 1 to 2 hours on the phone is still the norm. It was more then that and it was like that from the beginning but....here, I think The Thing described it best once in an email he sent me, 8 days after we met:

What I can say is that I know there's something very unusual between us and I think we can both feel that. Normal would be the least-used word in a paragraphed expression of my recollection of last weekend, my subsequent emotions or my anticipation of things to come.

*When I arrived at The Thing's house for the first time, a mere 12 days after meeting, he was waiting on his front porch to greet me. The feeling that went through me at the moment when I first saw him again…when he hugged me and I could feel him and smell him again…indescribable. Within an hour, I finally had to admit to myself that, odd as it sounded, I was in love with this man. I remember the exact moment. We were wrapped in each other's arms just looking into each other's eyes…one of those moments that seem to go on forever and you only hope that it does…Neither of us had spoken a word. We could only look at each other and occasionally he would lightly touch my face. And that was when the thought went through my head "oh my God, I'm in love with him. I just met him. People will think I'm crazy. But oh my God, I am in love with this man." And no sooner had that thought gone through my mind then he spoke for the first time. He whispered, "You'll just know."

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •