Photobucket

7/16/2008

I've fallen in to stupidity and I can't get up

Apparently, Verizon was just trying to break me in.

I have discovered, that in Maryland, doctors won’t even schedule you an appointment if you do not have a copy of your current medical records. In Pennsylvania, it is against the law for a doctor to give medical records to their patients. You can see your records whenever you want, but you are not allowed possession of them. This conundrum makes it very difficult for someone with both a thyroid condition and skin cancer to see a doctor.
I finally just picked a doctor, told them the deal, got a fax number, and am trying to get mine and the kids records faxed (though they still won’t make me an appointment until they actually receive the records). However, the-flavor-of-the-month at the front desk of my old doctor’s office can’t seem to grasp the urgency in this matter as I’ve called 3 times in the last week and still no records. Probably because F.O.T.M. is not even old enough to have her period yet, so medical concerns in general are probably a little beyond her.

Of course, the point is moot unless you have lots of money because now insurance is an issue. Health insurance for me and the kids is still provided by The Paperweight (yes, I did write my own divorce agreement and yes, I am good). However, while the insurance company assured me before I moved that there were tons of providers in Maryland, they forgot to mention that only 1 of these was a general practitioner and not a podiatrist and he was an hour and a half away and he wasn’t currently accepting new patients. Okay, fine. I’ve paid cash to see doctors outside my insurance plan before…except that they seem to be charging an average of $100 more per visit here (assuming you don’t want them to actually do something, like a physical for example, because that would cost more. And yes, I actually had one nurse/receptionist tell me that when I was calling around) (and assuming you have your previous medical records otherwise you’re not even getting in the door). Okay, fine. So I’ll bite the bullet, sign up for health insurance through my office, which is accepted everywhere, and have The Paperweight give me the insurance cost in cash instead to make up for it. Or so I thought. The price tag to cover me and the two kids through my office’s plan is $1167.38.
Per Month.
No, I’m not joking.

So after a month long stay with The Paperweight, The Girl is here with us. Per her request, I signed her up for swimming classes this summer. I found sessions that her and I can do together at the local YMCA. Unfortunately, they started before her move, but the Register assured me it would be no problem and pointed out that otherwise the next session didn’t start until September. So I signed us up. So class #3 was class our #1, which the dickhead instructor pointed out when we showed up. Loudly. Repeatedly. Incessantly…
Until I finally pointed out that if he had come and helped us, perhaps we could have moved down from Pennsylvania faster and at a more convenient time for him.

The MVA’s website (and why can’t they be DMV like everyone else?) says that for my driver’s license and title transfer I need to call and make an appointment. So I called all one friggin day getting a busy signal until finally I get through, probably because it’s now after 4:30 and they’re closed. And the recorded message states that for out-of-state transfers to bring your paperwork to your local office, not need for an appointment….
How convenient.
So I go to the MVA/DMV this morning and this nice lady at the information desk gives me a number for my new license and a form to fill out for the title. However, since she’s under the impression my number for my license is going to be called quickly and she doesn’t want me to miss it, she gives me a clip board to fill out this form while I’m waiting instead of filling it out at the back counter per usual standards. She informs me to make sure to bring my form (and her clipboard) back though as soon as possible. Which I did, when I finished and my number still hadn’t been called. However, she simply handed the form back to me and informed me I needed to take it and fax it to yada yada yada…
and the hurry to fill out this form was because???

I did meet some of the nicest people when I registered The Girl for Elementary school. I stopped over and they gave me the district forms, doubles even when I told them about The Boy. I dropped them back off a week later, they made copies of her birth certificate and immunization records. Done deal.
I went to the High School next, with forms and records in hand for The Boy, and the lady at the front desk said I needed to make an appointment. Granted, she was awful busy filing her nails and trying to keep her two daughters from misbehaving at the next work station as they screwed around on the computer, but seriously, an appointment? With who? Why? Okay, fine. Except lazy ass won’t even make me the appointment. She gave me the phone number instead and said I had to call and make an appointment… next week...
So I call the next week to make an appointment, and I swear to God that this woman told me that first I had to come in and pick up forms before she’d schedule me an appointment. And I swear on all that is holy it took all of my strength to not walk the 5 blocks over to the school and beat this woman senseless. So I ‘mention’ that 1) I already had all of the appropriate forms and 2) it’s a good thing I did have the forms already since I was just in there last week and she sent me away telling me to call and make an appointment. To which she put me on hold.

Note to anyone directly or remotely in public relations, never put a pissed off woman on hold. Never. I don’t care if your hair is on fire. Don’t do it. It’s a bad move. Especially when pissed off woman is only 5 blocks away from where you are and knows what you look like.
So I have an appointment for tomorrow morning. The Girl has been registered for more than 3 weeks now. I hope to God the teachers are more competent than the support staff or The Boy (with his 160 IQ) is going to have a fucking field day.

And this is on top of the normal work 40 hours a week, raise 2 kids, unpack in a new house, with absolutely no support system because you are at least 3 hours away from all of your much loved friends and living again with a boy. Yes, The Thing is wonderful and blah blah blah. But he’s still a boy. Sure, he’s cute and has nice muscles and is amazing in bed, but he still leaves his clothes on the floor and hates to do dishes and creates weird smells.
I miss being able to see my friends without scheduling a date.
I miss going to the store and running in to people I know.
I miss going to the store and not getting lost on the way back.

And the people here are stupid.
And I’m not just saying that because I’m homesick.
Cause I’m not.
They really are stupid.
Shuttup.

11 Comments:

Blogger Mamacita Chilena said...

Are you sure you didn't actually move to Chile, not Maryland? Because I really thought that kind of extreme inefficiency was exclusive to this country.

Wed Jul 16, 03:11:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Thumper said...

Man, I feel all that...thanks to the USAF we got to do that every 2-3 years, for 20 years. It always sucks, but the people tend to get a little less stupid over a year or so. Well, most of them...

Wed Jul 16, 03:38:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Arwen said...

Leave to the DMV, excuse me...the MVA, and the school districts to bend you over and stick it to ya. They are run by the government, aren't they?

Wed Jul 16, 03:49:00 PM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Cripes! What a time you've had! I'd be homesick too. Which you are, you know.

Have you considered asking your doctor in PA to refer you to a doc in MD, and have him send the files? He might be able to pull some strings.

Also, generally if there are no providers in your area, an insurance company will pay in network amounts. Might be worth calling to check on that if you haven't already.

Wed Jul 16, 06:32:00 PM EDT  
Blogger jac said...

sounds a lot like how "things" seem to work in the NYC metro area. coolchick has some great advice, if you haven't already done that, couldn't hurt to check into it.
let me know if you need me to get the next train down and kick some ass for you! it would be my pleasure!

Wed Jul 16, 09:31:00 PM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Keep in mind that your kids ae going through the same crap BUT>>>they still have to make friends there. Try to be sane.

Otherwise, be in love and be happy.

Wed Jul 16, 11:46:00 PM EDT  
Blogger The Cluck Wagon said...

No advice beyond what's already been suggested. But some hugs - and booze if needed - for your stress. Let me know if you need a care package!

Thu Jul 17, 09:40:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Shelly said...

Wow, sounds like a nightmare! Good luck getting settled!

Thu Jul 17, 10:15:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Monty Q. Kat said...

I can tell you from personal experience that the MVA hires the exceptionally slow. The last time I went I got the trainee. Yeah.

Um, again feeling like I'm the class nerd talking to the Prom Queen...if you would ever like to have a RL friend in MD, I'd be happy tp fill out a resume.

Sun Jul 20, 09:50:00 AM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

DAMN IT. Friggin' login.

Sun Jul 20, 09:51:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Karen said...

Ok, I live in MD... and I feel your pain. I will also volunteer to be a "come over and drink coffee and unpack a box" friend if you need one.

and btw... not all of us are stupid. Some of us are smart enough not to work for a government agency.

Thu Jul 24, 07:26:00 PM EDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •