Yearly Fauve Festival
Yes it's that time of year already. One year is coming to a close and another new year is fast approaching.
It is time to start fresh!
Start anew!
Make resolutions!
It's the third annual Fauve
tries to quit smoking, turns in to a total bitch, and then smokes again after she realizes she's gained 10 lbs
Festival!
This is Day #8 of the 'cutting back' portion of the Fauve (yada yada) Festival. I've only been smoking 5 cigarettes a day, down from my normal 10 a day. The good news? The annoying hacking cough from my illness last week has pretty much disappeared; not to mention that the illness did not get as bad as it normally does, in the first place. The bad news? The scale this morning says that I've gained 3 lbs….
AND I HAVEN'T EVEN FUCKING QUIT COMPLETELY YET!!
You know…Lung cancer? Emphysema? Sure….but what else is there?!?! Obesity, on the other hand…. You've got heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure, stroke, certain types of cancer (including kidney, breast and colon cancers), gallbladder disease, gout, sleep apnea, asthma, and osteoarthritis…. I think I've made a bad choice. Why do I fucking do this to myself every year? Why do I fall for the non-smoking radical propaganda?
Um…I shouldn't have to state this, but I will…. I am ranting. For anyone reading this, who feels the need to give me a long list of reasons why I should quit smoking and/or is going to leave me a long depressing story about a loved one who died from smoking….let me give you a tip. See the above rant? I will totally make that look like child's play on your ass if you even think about doing that. And then I'll go out and buy a pack of cigarettes and chain smoke just to spite you for leaving such drivel in my comments section after I told you not to. So it will be all your fault when I kill over 20 years from now from lung cancer. Got it, fuckhead?
Christ I need another cigarette…

19 Comments:
Not sayin' nuthin.
Nope.
I gotta go before I say something.
:)
She's so cute when she's having withdrawals isn't she..lol
Rant away.
Ummm...have you tried quitting when it's not the holiday, stressed out from shopping, everyone has food laying around just to nibble on time of the year? Just askin..
[smacks Mads upside the head with her bag of cashews]
I gained more than 10 pounds when I quit! Try 100! (over time... over time...) I had to quit, though, because my hubby-to-be was allergic.
Not a day goes by that I don't miss it.
I told him if anything happened to him and he wasn't around any more, I'd probably start smoking again.
Kudos and anti-#-hugs to you if you make it!
I need to quit too. But it's so fun and nice and cool and all the kids are doing it. Wah.
I'm gonna give it an honest to God try this time though, if only because Texas is raising the price per pack by a buck and this nasty little habit costs me too much already.
Anyway, good luck kid. Oh, and I am going to get around to that 6 weird things meme one of these days, swear to God. I've just got such a bad attitude right now, all I can come up with "I hate people", and "Where are my fucking shoes??".
Want me to make a list of reasons you should quit? Let me start with...
1) your sense of smell/taste surely becomes sharper when you quit. You'll be able to really smell what The Thing's neck smells like, what your daughter's hair smell likes and that your teenager needs to take a shower.
2) Have you SEEN the wrinkles smoking causes? Seriously. You can look forward to much better skin!
3) Consider the money you will save, or at the very least, have at your disposal. I have no idea what cigarettes cost, but I hear they are expensive. Go ahead and set a goal (vacation, new furniture, an expensive bag, jewelry) of what to do with the money you'll save as incentive to quit.
4) You won't get sick as much. Really.
5) You'll probably live longer and healthier.
Want me to keep going?
Kudos for attempting to quit. You can do it. I have faith in you.
[throws her bowl of cocoa pepples at coolchicks head]
Really - holidays may not be the best time. Hmmmm, maybe whenever you have the urge to smoke, crunch on some celery instead?
Ducking before you throw anything at me. ;)
Really - holidays may not be the best time. Hmmmm, maybe whenever you have the urge to smoke, crunch on some celery instead?
Ducking before you throw anything at me. ;)
Really - holidays may not be the best time. Hmmmm, maybe whenever you have the urge to smoke, crunch on some celery instead?
Ducking before you throw anything at me. ;)
oops - sorry that posted so much - it wasn't showing up and was giving me new word verification codes so I didn't know it worked. sorry.
lol..I thought loislane was just trying to get her point across.
Seriously...we luvs ya Fauvie and want you around. If you need a quitting partner I know Lori's been trying to quit too.
I finally did it 2 years ago this Christmas. BUT HOLY MOLY, I still breath deeply whenever I walk by a smoker!
Good luck honey!!!!
Man. Madison and coolchick's heads are bleeding.
Glad I didn't say anything.
**whispering**
Aren't you all glad fauve is quitting that habit? I sure am. Hope she doesn't stick a fork in HER head.
**whispering done**
Good luck, girl!
Saying nothing...
Can I bum one from you? ;)
Steve~
I know it's hard. Really.
Hang in there - I like you whether you smoke or not. :-)
I'm an ex-smoker so know just how you feel but none the less quit. I assume you don't smoke in the house and expose the kids to second hand smoke. It's for all the right reasons. Another one is it opens the field for more men. Most non-smokers don't care for major tongue fest with something that tastes like an ashtray.
my dad tried to quite for ten years. TRied everything....i mean everything. there's a new product out though, sounded pretty good...to bad I cant remember what itwas....hmmmm, i'll have to come back when i do.
LMFAO! While reading your rant I think I split my sides. Now that I've finished I'm still laughin and, oh gawd, it hurts!
You nut! LOL!
I understand your frustration though and wish you the BEST of luck in your efforts, hun!
BTW....You should really post that pic of you in your "Happy Bunny" shirt over here. It's way cute and I absolutely LOVE Happy Bunny! He cracks me the hell up; like you do...LOL ;o)
Peace, Love and ALL that Jazz!
~Rosie
Post a Comment
<< Home