The long catch-up
Work:
Deadline's Law - anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. I dealt with a broken ftp site, a crashed email server and consultants who were idiots. But last week's deadline was met; for better or worse and I won't have another submission until the end of April. Two things got me through it all without killing anyone or even a single temper tantrum for that matter 1) Coffee flavored Hershey Kisses courtesy of Girlfriend (if we were single and she was a little bit gay, I'd marry her) and 2) the knowledge that I would be spending a 3 day weekend with The Thing.
The weekend:
My weekend was perfect. And by perfect, I mean perfect. We saw a show, had dinner with friends, shopped, went on a tour, watched movies, visited his parents, had beautiful weather and a lot of incredible sex. What more could you possibly ask for? Well, of course, to have it all the time. Which is something we talked about a lot this weekend….
The move:
We decided that doing things 'right' would be better then doing things 'fast' and we will be moving in together next summer. The only pro to doing it this summer was the fact that it would save us a year of being apart, but the pros of waiting until next summer are numerous. And, I figure, I plan on spending the next 40 or so years with The Thing so I suppose I can wait 15 more months (+/-) to move in. So the next year will be spent - on his end, adding on another bedroom and a 1/2 bath to his house to make room for the additional three people to be living there. And on my end, making sure The Girl's numerous health problems are resolved or at least under control since we will be moving away from the Children's Hospital and the 3 different specialists she currently sees there (come to think of it, I don't think I've mentioned The Girl's medical stuff here before. And I'm not going to now. Maybe some other day). There of course will be various and numerous other things to be taken care of but those are the biggest/most important and the rest is just your standard moving-to-another-state kind of items. I will, of course, have to find another job but I really don't see that as a big issue. I've scoped out the area and there is a TON of work in my field and, besides, I’m good at what I do. Not bragging, just the truth - I have a kick ass resume. Of course, that sometimes works against me. I've had people who didn't consider hiring me because they assume they can't afford me. Personally, though I don't tend to tell potential employers this, I really don't give a shit about making a lot of money. I'll go to a good firm and make crap money before I'll go to a bad firm for more money. Not that this really has anything to do with anything…I'm just rambling at this point. So let's move on, shall we?
Next weekend:
I will be taking the kids to The Thing's for the weekend for the first time. All four of us are terribly excited about this; especially The Girl (the big flirt. She's always trying to groove on my man). When I got home from my trip last night, she made me get her suitcase from the attic, which she proceeded to pack herself (Little People toys and fruit snacks mostly) and dragged it around the house for the rest of the evening asking when we were leaving. The cloud in this beautiful sunshiny sky of mine is, of course
The Paperweight:
I told him about this trip with the kids a month ago and he didn't say a word. And I thought, Cool, he's not going to be an jerk for once. Um, yeah. Right. And monkeys might fly out of my ass too. He called me on my cell on my way home yesterday wanting to know 'what this trip meant'. I said, 'it means I'm taking the kids away for the weekend' and pointed out that I took them to New Jersey last Fall and he didn't flip out. Yeah, okay…so The Paperweight's not too far off. He's smart enough to put together that we want to get the kids used to the town and The Thing's house so I can move down there. But he's still a jerk.
He told me during this conversation that I 'exude happiness' and questioned why I couldn't be this way with him. Uh, because The Thing treats me like he loves me and doesn't hold guns to my head? Yeah, The Paperweight just doesn't get it. He honestly doesn't get it. It seems that it was 'my fault' in a way….like, he thinks I should have just been this happy with him. Then he would have been happy and then could have treated me well. Part of me thinks 'DUMB ASS!' but part of me just thinks...he's really fucking sad.

8 Comments:
Have a great weekend!
And 15 (+/-) months seems like a long time, but it'll fly past. Plus it's not like you guys don't ever see each other. ;)
I made it about 3 months before moving out to where my thing is, but then we were 1500 miles away. There weren't many weekend trips.
What do the kids think about the move?
Hey Fauve ;)
Im sure the 15 Months will fly by....
I knwo he's there Dad and nothing can replace that but Im sure your kids will be happier and understand why...
Plus another state doesnt mean they cant see him surely ?
The Girl doesn't know about the move yet. Her concept of time is still limited so we'll wait quite a while before we tell her. The Boy loves the idea and is disappointed that we aren't doing it this summer.
The Paperweight will still see the kids of course; it's only a 3 hour drive and that's with stopping along the way. However, he'd see them the standard every other weekend per the visitation agreement instead of pretty much everyday like he does now.
Don't let The Paperweight rain on your parade. And I totally wouldn't worry about The Girl's medical issues -- just get her local doctors to research & refer you to someone in Thing's area.
Now, what if you find a great opportunity (job-wise) prior to the 15 month (+/-)? ;)
The paperweight may be sad, but he is a dumb ass too. It's a lethal combo - I know I was married to it too.
Glad things are going so well and that you exude happiness. You deserve to.
Smooches!
I love how these things are just working out. :)
Of course the ex wants to blame you for not being happy. That is so much easier and less insightful than looking too closely at himself.
NEWBIE...Just wanted to say hello and that'll keep stopping by....
M~
www.AdoringlyM.blogspot.com
I'm excited for you. It sounds like the two of you get along great.
I've waited over 4 years to be with my Thing(ette) and in July the waiting will be over. It goes fast...really!
Post a Comment
<< Home