Photobucket

7/23/2007

This has nothing to do with Harry Potter or dog fights

So The Paperweight and I were talking the other day on the phone. Just small talk kind of stuff. I don't remember how it got brought up but...

Oh wait, yes I do.

So The Girl and I were in the car early last week when she says, out of the blue, "Is Thing your husband?"
Me: No. He's my boyfriend. You have to be married to have a husband.
The Girl: Oh yeah. [pause] Is daddy your husband?
Me: No. Daddy used to be my husband. But we aren't married anymore.
The Girl: Why not?
Me: Because we didn't play well together and would end up fighting. We didn't want to fight anymore so now daddy has his house and I have my house. [pause] Do you remember?
The Girl: No. You and daddy fought? I don't remember. You know daddy has a girlfriend.
Me: Yes honey. I know.
The Girl: I like gummi bears. Will you buy me gummi bears? [trailing off in to 5 year old girl inane chatter. Repeat ad nauseam]

So I recounted this conversation to The Paperweight on the phone. It was an interesting conversation in a couple ways. One I'll get to another day, but the other….So Paperweight asks me, after I told him this story, "Do you and Thing fight?" and I laughed. You see, the thing is, Thing and I have never had a 'fight'. In the 9 months we've been together, there have been exactly 4 times when there was something we didn't agree on. The first, which I blogged about here, had to do with a 'friend' of his who hit on him and we disagreed on how it should be 'dealt' with. And that kind of set the tone for our relationship and how the next things were/are handled. If you saw our 'fights' you would laugh your ass off. It consists of us sitting down together and one person says, 'I feel [blank] because [blank] and I would feel better if [blank]' and then the next person does the same. We reach a mutual conclusion, usually a compromise of some sort. There is no name calling or swearing. No one throws anything (Paperweight loved to throw shit). No one even raises their voice and we usually hold hands or hug - just maintain some type of physical contact the whole time.
It truly is disgusting.
And as I told The Paperweight on the phone, it's really fucking cool.

So this past weekend was time #4 and it followed suit to the previous 3. I was feeling [blank] because [blank] and I would feel better if [blank]. Thing, in turn, was feeling [blank] because [blank] and he would feel better if [blank]. The conclusion?
We love each other.
He gets [blank] and I get [blank] both of which will take some getting used to…but it's worth it. But you know, the fact that we can do this, that I know we can sit and talk about anything with no fear, means just as much as the actual resolution to any issues we may face.

5 Comments:

Blogger angela marie said...

Nice, isn't it?

:)

Mon Jul 23, 02:11:00 PM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Yeah but...

I'm lost.

Where's the fun in all that??!

Mon Jul 23, 05:03:00 PM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

In other words, ya'll act like grown ups. That IS cool.

Mon Jul 23, 09:25:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Hpaisan40 said...

Can you teach me that? I think you may have a career in couples counseling :)

Tue Jul 24, 12:31:00 AM EDT  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

yeah but you know what you are missing? Make up sex!!!

Tue Jul 24, 11:30:00 AM EDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •