Good P.R.
Those of you who have been here since the beginning, or since this time last year at least, will remember the name Eduardo. No, no...not Eduardo #2 the married jerk nor the last Eduardo (#3) who dumped my ass but the orginal Eduardo who started it all. For those who weren't here, or to refresh your memories, here's the back story.
I met Eduardo through an online dating service a year ago this month. I hadn't been on a date in like 14 years so he was my foray into the dating world.
He was very handsome, well educated, employed and wanted absolutely nothing serious what so ever. Perfect! My divorce wasn't even final yet and still had plenty of relationship issues myself...but I was, uh, looking for some fun...And Eduardo met my needs nicely.
We certainly liked each other, had some nice dates and great conversation but...
Okay, let's be honest, shall we? We were fuck buddies. We both knew it, we discussed it, we had no expectations put on each other, we could date others if we wanted and that was the end of it.
This went on for a few months until I fell head-over-heels for Eduardo #3. I broke it off with Eduardo saying, basically, "I want to see what happens with this guy and that will be easier to do if I'm not fucking you while I'm dating him". Eduardo was very cool about it, asked if we could still be friends and wished me the best of luck. A few things happened:
1) We actually did remain friends and talk & email often.
2) Almost immediately after this conversation, Eduardo #3 dumped me.
3) Less then a month after that, I met The Thing.
4) Eduardo thinks that The Thing, is the one I broke it off for.
So Eduardo called last night to catch-up. We've both been busy lately and have been playing phone tag for a week now. We had your standard work-family-hobby-latest-gossip kind of conversation. Until the end.
As we were getting ready to hang up, he hesitates then says, "You know, I'm sorry I wasn't able to give you a relationship. You are a great person and deserve to be treated well. And I'm really sorry I wasn't able to do that. Thing is very lucky."
After thanking him for his kind words, I pointed out that he never treated me badly and the lack of relationship was a mutual agreement. He hesitantly agreed...then proceeded to sing my praises for a little while longer. Normally something I'd be all for....but some of his praises were, um, of a 'personal' nature...which started to make me uncomfortable.
So what did I do?
I yawned. Right in his ear.
Then excused myself and said good night.


