Photobucket

12/29/2006

So yeah...

you guys rock.
Thank you so much, each of you, for being non-judmental, helpful and supportive - not just of me but of The Thing as well. We (The Thing and I)were a little concerned on whether or not I would get 'fair' advice since this is my blog. I'm glad you guys all looked at the facts, and not at me. Bravo!

I read each comment carefully and there was a lot that I had not considered and/or things that were ideas I was trying to convey but did not know how to word them. I also forwarded each comment to The Thing, so he has gained valuable insight from you as well.

Yeah, I know what you're thinking..."shut up and tell us what happened with the fucking dinner!!"
Okay, okay...

Let me tell you first, that we spoke on the phone for about a half hour Wednesday afternoon...just a few hours before the scheduled dinner. That, in itself, was pretty fucking cool. It is wonderful to be in a relationship where you can talk about things that are bothering you without having blame, shame and childish name-calling involved. No one took cheap shots...hell, we didn't even argue. We just each talked about how we felt.

For the record, my heart told me that The Thing would not cheat on me so that wasn't really the issue. The issue for me, mainly, was that from what I knew of this woman and knowing all the details of their last encounter, and from being a woman myself...I knew The Woman would not let it drop. She still has feelings for The Thing, was going to hit on him again, and was going to do what she could to get him back...or at least in bed. The Things stance was first, he didn't believe this to be the case and secondly, even if it was the case, he would simply get up and leave. And he was upset by the thought that I didn't trust him. I couldn't seem to make My Thing understand that I did/do trust him...but whether or not he got up and walked away wouldn't change the fact that The Woman had her hands and/or lips on my love. And that he was in a position to not put himself in that position in the first place...but he was insisting on trying to maintain a 'friendship' anyway.

So The Thing came right out and asked what I thought he should do...
::sigh::
I'm hoping you guys know me well enough to know that when I say something, I mean it. And I'll always tell you the truth. I'm not one of those girls who will say 'do whatever' and then hold it against you later. Nor would I ever dream of trying to live your (The Thing's) life for you. Lord knows I'm not perfect and just because something is what I want doesn't make it right.

I bit the bullet and told The Thing that he needed to do what he felt was right. If he needed to see The Woman and clear the air with her/maintain the friendship then that's what he needed to do. He said yes and off to dinner he went.

The Boy had a deck hockey game that night. He had just finished and we were headed back to the car - around 8:30 pm when I received a text message from The Thing:

You were right. Details later. Call at 9.

To which I replied:

This was one time I was hoping I was wrong but I can't say I blame her.

His reply?

Thank you so much for letting me prove it for myself. That is the most important gesture you've offered me yet. I love you.

So yeah...she wants him...he wants me...and he's here with me now.

12 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Damn skippy - I am really happy for you.

Sounds like your new year will start off right.

Now, how's the smoking/non-smoking thing going?

Happy New Year, toots...

Fri Dec 29, 08:13:00 PM EST  
Blogger Bridie said...

Well done you handled that so well! Have a great new year!

Fri Dec 29, 09:29:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Very nicely handled!

Feels good to be right, eh? I expect it feels even better to have him talk with you about the details, and that he's with you, not her. Good call on his part.

Enjoy your weekend!

Fri Dec 29, 11:07:00 PM EST  
Blogger Kara said...

i'm glad it turned out well. You handled it better then i would have...which might be why i'm single ;)

Fri Dec 29, 11:55:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dead ant...dead ant, dead ant, dead ant..........dead ant..

Sat Dec 30, 12:10:00 AM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

{{{{{Fauvie}}}}} I'm SO glad for you!! Relieved that you were able to talk about it, and thrilled that he is, indeed, deserving of your trust.

Happy, happy new year to you, your sweetie and your kids - you're certainly off to a great start!

Sat Dec 30, 08:22:00 AM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Good for you and good for him. What's that saying? If you love something let it go...

:)

Sat Dec 30, 08:16:00 PM EST  
Blogger Unknown said...

Awwww...

"It is wonderful to be in a relationship where you can talk about things that are bothering you without having blame, shame and childish name-calling involved. No one took cheap shots...hell, we didn't even argue. We just each talked about how we felt."

Yep, pettiness is bad. Getting away from pettiness in a relationship is a wonderful, wonderful thing. That's the great thing about my husband. He always treats me with respect and he's never called me a derogatory name in the almost 7 years we've been together.

We've had a few heated faults (usually caused by me being moody, I'll admit), but it's so wonderful to be in a relationship with someone that you can resolve something as an adult and still keep your respect for each other in the process.

(Sorry, had to sing the praises of my thing there for a moment... :)

Sun Dec 31, 09:52:00 AM EST  
Blogger The Cluck Wagon said...

Glad it worked out so well - enjoy your weekend. Happy New Year!

Sun Dec 31, 02:38:00 PM EST  
Blogger Sparkmonkey said...

I went through very, very similar stuff in my last relationship. I had an inner sense about the other person. He, was clueless. Adamant, in fact, that I was being crazy.

I wasn't.

And, the irony here is that we broke up and THEY are still friends.

I honestly believe in my inner guidance system. Even if I am just being twitchy and triggered, there is almost always a reason for that.

Yes, men *can* have female friends. And, yes, ex-lovers *can* just be friends. But if she gave a clear signal that she wanted him, well, that is clear as day, and he should have just left it at that. She wasn't playing by the rules. She *knew* his feelings for you and hit on him anyway.

No real "friend" would do that.

And, if he decided to spend time with her after that incident, then he had some questions to answer as well.

My two cents worth.

Glad he came around to the reality of what a wonderful person you are.

Mon Jan 01, 07:55:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Well that's an awesome update :)

Hope you are doing better on the non-smoking thing than I am - I suck.

Tue Jan 02, 01:19:00 PM EST  
Blogger zennist said...

Excellent!

Tue Jan 02, 05:20:00 PM EST  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •