Photobucket

1/03/2007

New Year's Resolution

Since it's already January 3rd, you can tell that I've been avoiding this topic. I debated whether to do a whole 'new year' post at all. It seems like everyone has blogged one, in one form or another, and I loathe to be like everyone else. Not to mention that it's just too easy - a 'gimme' topic, if you will. Besides, and this is the most important reason, I had no resolutions planned this year.

I've spent the last year changing and growing for Christ's sake, whether I wanted to or not. I was forced to change for my own survival and the survival of my children; both physically (being able to support and raise two children on my own) and emotionally (having the kids adjust and turn out relatively normal, plus my own emotional survival. While my self-esteem was never the best, can you imagine the blow of being totally rejected by an abusive asshole? Seriously…how much must one suck to not be able to earn common courtesy from one's spouse? Yeah, yeah…shuddup…I know this is completely inaccurate, not to mention just a whole bowl full of wrong…but this is how I felt for many months. Deal with it. I did.)
So in between surviving and trying to re-build my self-esteem, I was faced with the taunting task of just trying to figure out who the hell I was and what I wanted out of life. I had spent the majority of my life trying to be, become, or otherwise adjust to what The Paperweight wanted.

In the past year, I've changed everything from the clothes I buy (stuff I like to wear in lieu of buying what I knew The Paperweight liked on me), to the products I use (The Paperweight couldn't stand the scent and forbade me to wear it), to the music I listen too (if you weren't in to Ted Nugent or The Rolling Stones, you were just a big pussy in The Paperweight's book). I wasn't always a complete wus but the first two years of our marriage we did nothing but fucking fight…which, when he finally got to the point where he was at a loss for words, is when the abuse started. It got to the point where it was just easier…it was easier to throw away the lotion, buy a pair of blue jeans from Wal-mart and stand beside him at the Ted Nugent concert (4 Nugent concerts, to be exact. I should get a fucking medal).

So when this new year was approaching and everyone around me, both online and in real life, began discussing change and resolutions I actually cringed. The old standards I'm ignoring - like quitting smoking; been there, done that, tried it again, forgot about it. Seriously? The 3lbs added un-needed stress….which leads to the other common resolution, to lose weight. We won't even go there. For anyone who doesn't know, which would be just about every single one of you, my weight is something I pay particularly close attention too. There is a whole story and journey involved, but I'll save that for another day, if anyone actually says they give two shits about hearing about it. Anyway, I've done nothing but change and grow for months…do I really need to fucking plan on doing it now just because I someone brought me a new desk calendar?

Fuck no.

At least…
That's what I thought…
Until this morning…

This morning, I decided that my New Year's Resolution is to pray more. In fact, it is to pray every single god damn day. More specifically, to pray that The Paperweight gets hit by a Mack Truck. Or, perhaps, that his 40 year diet of steak and butter finally catches up with him and he drops dead of a heart attack. Hell, I'd even settle for spontaneous combustion. I'm not picky.
For many years I believed in Karma…what goes around, comes around…and yet that fucker continues to waltz through life with not a care in the world…So I'm tired of waiting for Karma to kick in and am taking a more active roll by praying to as many gods as I can find via the internet. It is my goal to pray, wish and hope him, quite literally, to death.

And if this doesn't work I'm buying a voodoo doll…and stabbing it in the head with a fork…

12 Comments:

Blogger Sudiegirl said...

Let me know if you need extra forks.

Wed Jan 03, 12:43:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Geesh...go on vacation and miss all the good shit.

I'm not big on resolutions. In fact, I didn't make one either. Sounds like you have everything covered.

Wed Jan 03, 02:07:00 PM EST  
Blogger Sparkmonkey said...

I can't decide what to resolve...so many things. Mostly I want peace and joy and balance. Last year I went for Joy and got kicked in the balls.

I am so happy that you got to fall in love again. It gives me hope.

Maybe I shall start to pray more, too. Though I heard that the best prayers are "Please" and "Thank You"

Wed Jan 03, 03:39:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I think you should make your own Paperweight voodoo doll. You could customize it to look like him, and label certain areas of "concern" (the heart, brain, genitals, etc) and buy a couple of good sized hat pins -- you know, those nice ones with the pearl on the end -- to use. Daily. While you pray. ;)

On the resolution note, why not quit smoking, then resolve to lose any weight you pick up because of quitting? I'll encourage you along the way, if needed. I personally wish EVERYONE would/could quit smoking.

Wed Jan 03, 04:42:00 PM EST  
Blogger The Cluck Wagon said...

Can I suggest this??

http://www.shopkitson.com/index.php?pageId=2&product_sku=098503Husband



Or this??

http://reviews.overstock.com/9876/1745882/reviews.htm

Wed Jan 03, 04:46:00 PM EST  
Blogger Unknown said...

Mmm.. vanilla jasmine. I bought some hand soap and put it in our upstairs bathroom in our old house. My thing used it. He never commented on it. It is a bit feminine, but soap is good as long as it doesn't outright smell bad.

You know this already, but just the fact that your paperweight was defective should make you understand that you are not bad for being rejected. I kind of laugh now thinking about how much it hurt when I shed my paperweight, but it took a long time.

Wed Jan 03, 05:39:00 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Ooooo..... good call loislane! Love that first link.

Thu Jan 04, 11:18:00 AM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I had a paperweight and even after fours years I am still dealing with that problem. It gets better every year though. I am almost to the point I was before my paperweight came on the scene.

Of course I still stand by the fact that I am menopausal and he was my version of a mid life crisis.

I am working on that fact and changing it to a hard lesson learned the hard way.

Thu Jan 04, 11:19:00 AM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Fauvie,
Your prayers for/about The Paperweight made me laugh. I especially like the voodoo doll idea!

I have to point one thing out, though. I believe you are mistaken when you say that he "continues to waltz through life with not a care in the world". Think about how angry/jealous he gets when he sees that you've moved on and are happy without him and happier with The Thing than you were with him. Think about the fact that his son sees through him and doesn't want to have much to do with him. Think about how you and your kids are moving forward, creating a new, happy and fulfilling life in which he now only plays a minor role.

Oh, he's paying for his wrongs, all right. He's no longer waltzing. He might act like it at times, to keep the "macho" image alive, but he's paying, long term. I believe in Karma, but I don't think it shows in obvious, immediate ways. Just like I believe prayers are always answered, just not always in the way and at the time we expect (especially not certain prayers ...)

Thu Jan 04, 06:00:00 PM EST  
Blogger Kara said...

I believe in karma..i just know that sometimes we don't always get to see it at work. That's what I tell myself when i wonder why Kendell's father still get's to walk around like he doesn't have a child.

Fri Jan 05, 01:02:00 AM EST  
Blogger Unknown said...

I laughed my ass at the end of that post an felt a little bit wrong in doing so like I should check if anyone saw me ;)

Get good solid forks for good repeated fork - head action

I believe in Karma in a big way he ' ll get his sooner or later.

Hmmm

Sun Jan 07, 04:08:00 PM EST  
Blogger Triste Rayne said...

I believe in karma also, but it was much more fun "praying" for MY ex to get herpes instead...

Sat Mar 31, 12:11:00 PM EDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to ...so I stabbed him in the head with a fork

View my Profile

Email Me

  • Bob's Bar & Grill
  • Boobs, Injuries & Dr. Pepper
  • Dantes Inferno with children
  • Dear So and So
  • Inches and Falling
  • karlababble
  • Last Girl on Earth
  • Lemming's World
  • Musings of a chick
  • my BIGlittle world
  • Natural Mental Implosion
  • Passive Aggressive Notes
  • Random Acts Of Sensless Thinking
  • Rude Cactus
  • Slick Sumbich
  • So the Fish Said
  • Sweetened Taters
  • Thumper Thinks Out Loud
  • VeryContrary
  • Why are you stalking me?
  •